May is National Bike Month

April 23, 2015

May is National Bike Month. Established in 1956, National Bike Month is sponsored by the League of American Bicyclists and celebrated in communities nationwide. What’s your reason to ride a bike?

NW Bike Commuting Events

The Northwest is a thriving bicycling Mecca and there are many festivals and events in May that offer a fun way to celebrate riding a bike.

Washington

May 1-31: Bike Month, Seattle, www.cascade.org

May 1-31: Adobe Commute Challenge, www.luum.com/challenges/88/bike-month-challenge

May 1-31: Bike to Campus Month, University of Washington, Seattle, www.washington.edu

May 1- 31: Pierce County Trips Bike to Work Commuter Challenge, Tacoma-Pierce County, www.piercetrips.com/225/Commuter-Challenge

May 1-31: Bicycle Commuter Contest, Thurston County, www.bccblog.com

May 2: She Bikes and friends–Bike Month Kick-off, Seattle, www.cascade.org/node/21546

May 2: Pedaler’s Fair, Seattle, www.pedalersfair.com

May 2: Kidical Mass to Bike Month Kick-Off Party, Seattle, www.cascade.org/node/21607

May 2: Seventh Annual Tacoma Bike Swap, Tacoma, www.pugetsound.edu/community/experience-puget-sound/tacomabikeswap

May 3: Seattle Bike-n-Brews, Seattle, www.cascade.org/seattle-bike-n-brewsSold Out

May 6: Bike to School Day, Seattle, www.cascade.org/node/20809

May 7: Bike Everywhere Breakfast, Group Health, Seattle, www.cascade.org/breakfast

May 9: West Seattle Garage Sale Day Rides, Seattle, www.seattlebikeblog.com/event/west-seattle-bike-connections-garage-day-sale-ride

May 10: CycloFemme – We Ride Together, Seattle, www.cyclofemme.com

May 15: Bike to Work and School Day, Bellingham, www.biketoworkandschoolday.org

May 15: F5 Bike to Work Day, Statewide www.cascade.org/f5-bike-work-day

May 18-22: Spokane Bike to Work Week, www.spokanebikes.org

Oregon

May 1-31: PDX Bike Month, Portland, www.portlandoregon.gov/transportation/article/394915

May 1-31: Bike to PSU Challenge, Portland, www.biketopsu.com

May 9 – 15: Business Commute Challenge, Oregon, www.commutechallenge.org

May 10: CycloFemme – We Ride Together, Springfield, www.rideoregonride.com/events/cyclofemme-ride-springfield

Idaho

May 9-16: Boise Bike Week, Boise, www.boisebikeweek.org

May 11-16: Bike to Work Week and Bike Fest, Moscow, www.bikeforlifemoscow.com

Nationwide

May 1-Sept. 30: National Bike Challenge, www.nationalbikechallenge.org

May 6: National Bike to School Day, www.walkbiketoschool.org

May 11-15: National Bike Week/Day, www.bikeleague.org/content/bike-month-dates-events-0

May 20: Ride of Silence, www.rideofsilence.org

Resources

Bicycle Transportation Alliance (Oregon): www.btaoregon.org

Bike to Work Spokane: www.spokanebikes.net

Cascade Bicycle Club (Washington): www.cascade.org

Commute Seattle: www.commuteseattle.com

Drive Less. Save More, (Oregon): www.drivelesssavemore.com

Everybody Bike, (Whatcom County): www.everybodybike.com

The League of American Bicyclists: www.bikeleague.org/bikemonth

ORbike: www.orbike.com

She Bikes: www.cascade.org/explore/she-bikes-cascade

Washington Bikes: www.wabikes.org

Compiled by OutdoorsNW staff

Click the image below to visit BikeLeague.org and find out more!